For the Students of Hindu Vedic Astrology by Dr. A. Shanker

Recent Posts


Sub period of any of the Planets constituting a Mahadasa

Dr. Shanker Adawal

Ascertain the relevant mnemonically syllable (out of the 9 syllables) composing a formulae whose Sub-period is wanted and find out the owner of the sign indicated by that syllable. Multiply the number of years assigned to this Planet by the numbers of years fixed for the planet whose Mahadasa is under consideration and divide the product by the total number of years constituting the entire Ayu (age) of the formula or Chakra. The quotient in years etc, will represent the sub-period required.

The total number of years denoted by the sum of the nine mnemonically syllables of any formula represents the number in years of Parma Ayu for that formula. Accordingly, the Parma Ayu in years for the Amsa of the 12 signs (12 Rasi amsa) counted from Aries in an Apsavya Chakra will be 100, 85, 83 and 86 repeated thrice while those for the Amsa of the 12 signs (Rasi amsa) counted from Scorpio in a Savya Chakra will be same but in the reverse order, i.e., 86, 83, 85 and 100 repeated thrice.

Whatever effects in respect to the several Major periods are stated, the same should be applied.

i) Asvini, Bharani, Krittika – the three constellations have 12 quarters (Pada).

a) Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer – the four navamsa constitute the four quarters of Asvini.

b) Leo, Virgo, Libra, and Scorpio – the four Navamsa are in Bharani.

c) Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces fall in Krittika, this way divide the three constellations into these 12 navamsa.

ii) From Rohini the three constellations are Rohini, Mrigasiras, Ardra – these three have 12 navamsa.
Counting them in the reverse order from Scorpio – i.e. Scorpio, Libra, Virgo, Leo, Cancer, Gemini, Taurus, Aries, Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn, Sagittarius divide them in 12 navamsa. Rohini first quarter will  be Scorpio, second quarter will be Libra and so on. In this order Ardra fourth quarter will be Sagittarius Navamsa.

In the manner mentioned above in (i) the order of counting is kept for the constellations of Punarvasu, Pusya, Aslesa and the order in (ii) should be adhered for Magha, Purba Phalguni, Uttaraphalguni, again the order of (i) is followed for Hasta, Chitra, Svati and (ii) is followed for Visakha, Anuradha, Jyestha; the same order used in (i) is kept for Mula, Purvasadha, Uttarasadha and the order used in (ii) is followed for Sravana, Dhanistha and Satabhisaj and the same order used in (i) above be kept for Purba bhadrapada, Uttar bhadrapada and Revati.

The years of a sign is the same as the years of its lord.

Sun has 5 years (the sign of Sun is Leo – therefore the period of Leo is of 5 years.

Moon has 21 years (Cancer is ruled by Moon and so the period of Cancer will be of 21 years).

The Years of other planets, which are also of their signs, are given below:-

Mars-Aries-Scorpio 7 years for each

Mercury-Gemini-Virgo 9 years for each

Jupiter-Sagittarius-Pisces 10 years for each

Venus-Taurus-Libra 16 years for each

Saturn-Capricorn-Aquarius 4 years for each

The rule is to predict the effect of the periods of signs in Kalachakra Dasa is according to the (i) sign and (ii) its lord. Therefore in Kalachakra Dasa it is not said that the Dasa is of Mars or Aries but that the Dasa (period) is of Aries-Mars. In the same manner of Scorpio-Mars.

The influence and effect of Mars will be the same in both its signs of Aries and Scorpio but suppose Mars is in Aries and Jupiter etc. benefic planets are also placed in Aries; and in Scorpio, Saturn, Rahu etc. malefic planets are in position that the period of Aries-Mars will be good. But Scorpio-Mars will show ill effects.

1. Now let us know how the calculations are made, according to the proportion of the Padas of a Nakshatra. The number of Asvini etc., whichever may be the past Nakshatras, should be divided by 3. Thereafter the remainder should be multiplied by 4. To the figure so made available, the Pad of the present Nakshatra should be added. The product will be the Navamsa sign from Aries onwards.

2. The number of years (Poorna Ayu) are, as under. For the Amsa in Aries 100 years, in Taurus 85 years, in Gemini 83 years, in Cancer 86 years. The number of years will be the same for Signs, situated the 5th and 9th to them.

3. Multiply the past Ghatis, Pala etc. of the Pad of the Nakshatra, in which a person is born, by the existing Dasa years and divide it by 15. The result will indicate the expired period of the Dasa in years, months etc. By deducting it from the total number of years allotted, we get the balance of Dasa at birth. The Dasa should be taken, as commencing from that Sign.

4. Multiply the past Ghatis, Pala etc. of the present Pad of the Nakshatra by the number of years and divide the product by the fourth part of Bhabhog. The years etc. so obtained may then be deducted from the total Dasa period. The result will be the balance of Dasa at birth in years, months etc.

5. The past Kala (minutes) of the Navamsa, in which Moon may be placed, should be multiplied by the years, allotted to the Dasa and the product should be divided by 200. The resulting years etc., will be the expired portion of the Dasa. By deducting them from the total number of years the balance of the Dasa at birth is obtained.

6. In the Savya Chakra the first Amsa is called Deha and the last Jiva. The reverse is the pattern in the Apsavya Chakra. Therefore the calculations should be based on the Deha etc., in the Savya Chakra, and the basis is Jiva etc., in Apsavya chart.

Dr. Shanker Adawal
Profile and Dr. Adawal’s Astro Channel
Dr. Adawal’s research work and articles on Bhrigu Nadi astrology 

Dr. Adawal’s approved articles published on

Dr. Adawal’s exclusive articles on
Join Dr. Adawal’s Facebook Group for free Astro Queries
Visit Dr. Adawal’s facebook profile
Published articles on Newspapers

No comments:

Post a Comment

Education and Astrology!

Relations and Astrology

Predictive Patterns of Zodiac Signs 2024

राशिचक्र का पूर्वानुमान वर्ष 2024 के लिए।