For the Students of Hindu Vedic Astrology by Dr. A. Shanker

Recent Posts


Know About Zodiac Signs: Introduction, Chapter i, Part - 9

Dr. Shanker Adawal

9. Rahu and Ketu: The Shadowy Planets

Rahu and Ketu are called shadowy planets. They are not substantial heavenly bodies with an observable body shape or mass like the Sun, Moon and other planets have. Westerners have named Rahu and Ketu as Dragon’s Head and Dragon’s Tail respectively. Caput and Cauda are the other names given to them by Westerners.

Hindu mythology has in its characteristic way symbolized these two parts of a single body. According to a Puranic story after churning of the Samudra Manthan came out a divine elephant, a horse, a physician, the Goddess of wealth Mahalaxmi and Amrita or immortality. For the distribution of Amrita there was a serious dispute amongst the Devas and Asuras. The Supreme Lord (Bhagwan Vishnu) assuming the shape of an alluring Mohini, took charge of distributing the Amrita in the way that all of it was consumed by Devas but one among the Asuras had stealthily joined the ranks of Devas and got a share of Amrit but was discovered and exposed by the Sun and the Moon. Bhagwan Vishnu cut the Asura in two pieces but as he had taken Amrita both the severed parts remained alive though separated. The head got the name of `Rahu’ and the body and tail `ketu’. This made Rahu and Ketu eternal enemies of the Sun and the Moon.

Periodically they succeeded in swallowing the Sun and the Moon causing eclipses but they escape as they are immortal. The fact that has since been universally accepted is that Rahu Ketu are celestial points on the Zodiac with regulated movement and orbit and they have a distinct and predictable influence in horoscopes. The motion of these points which is always retrograde in motion can be calculated as accurately as the position of the Sun or the Moon, through owing to their being substance, this cannot be verified by visual observation.

To understand how these imaginary points are accurately located and their movements are calculated we have to consider the apparent paths in the heavens of the two planets the Sun and the Moon, that is, the paths along which the Sun and the Moon appear to an observer on earth, to rotate. The Sun appears to move along an ellipse of which Earth is a focus. The plane of this ellipse is inclined to the terrestrial Equator at an angle of 23o The Moon, as the satellite of the Earth moves round it and its path is also elliptical with the Earth as a focus, and plane of this orbit is inclined to the Equator at an angle of 28o so that the planes of the orbits of the Sun and the Moon appear to the observer on Earth to be inclined to each other at an angle of 5 degrees. The two points at which the orbit of the Moon cuts the orbit of the Sun are called nodes, and they are exactly 180o apart. The point of intersection formed when the Moon’s motion is from South to North, is said to be ascending node and named Rahu, and the point of intersection formed when the Moon’s motion is from north to south is called the descending node or Ketu. It has been observed that the nodes have a retrograde movement in the Zodiac at the rate of 19o 20 minutes per year. Rahu and Ketu are said to stay in a sign for about 18 months.

Rahu and Ketu indicate one born in a low caste; one who may have intrigue with girls; is one whose thoughts and actions will be evil. One will resort to outcastes and low born as well as ill bred people.
There is quite a controversy amongst the astrologers about the signs owned by Rahu and Ketu, and signs in which they will be exalted and debilitated. This controversy is running from ancient times. According to Uttara Kalamrita, an ancient classic on Hindu Predictive Astrology, Rahu is exalted in Taurus and debilitated in Scorpio, vice versa of Ketu. This book also assigns the sign Aquarius to Rahu and Scorpio to Ketu. Mooltrikona of Rahu has been fixed as Gemini and Mooltrikona of Ketu has been given as Virgo. Sanketnidhi, another recognized book allots Gemini as the exaltation sign of Rahu, Virgo as his own sign and Sagittarius as the exaltation sign of Ketu and Pisces as its own Sign. It is also believed that Rahu acts like Saturn and Ketu acts like Mars. The Gem of Rahu is Gomed and that of Ketu Cat’s Eye.

In up coming chapters astrological sign with their element, gender and characteristics of people born under each sign has been discussed in details.

Dr. Shanker Adawal
Research work and articles on Bhrigu Nadi astrology:
Published articles on
or search keyword "shanker adawal" in google search for published articles
Join my Facebook Group for free Astro Queries:
Published articles on Newspapers:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Education and Astrology!

Relations and Astrology

Predictive Patterns of Zodiac Signs 2024

राशिचक्र का पूर्वानुमान वर्ष 2024 के लिए।