For the Students of Hindu Vedic Astrology by Dr. A. Shanker

Recent Posts


Avasthas (State) of Planets & Their Effects Part 1

Dr. Shanker Adawal

Part 1

A Various Type of Avasthas (State) of Planets and Their Effects on the Native

In the Vedic or Hindu Astrology the ancient Seers have mentioned, various type of Avasthas or state, of the nine planets including Nodes (i.e. Rahu and Ketu), to determine quantitatively the nature of auspicious or inauspicious effects which a planet will be capable of conferring on a Native, not only during native’s life span but also in their period or sub-periods etc. Each of these Avasthas has a name, which is broadly symbolic of the type of effects expected from the respective planet (which is in that state). The method of finding out the state of a planet differs in each type of grouping of state or Avastha.

The Shayanaadi etc. Twelve Avasthas

Shayana (Repose, laying down), Upavesha (Worshiping or sitting), Netrapani (Washing eyes/ face), Prakasa (radiating), Gamana (going), Agamana (Coming), Sabhagatha (In assembly), Agama (homeward bound), Bhojana (Taing food), Nrityalipsa (Engrossed in dancing), Kauthuka (Amusement) and Nidra (Sleep), these are the names of the twelve Avasthas of the Planets.

To find out the particular Avastha of a planet we have to proceed as follows:

The serial number of the Nakshatra in which the Planet is situated is to be multiplied by the serial number of the respective Planet, (Sun-1, Moon-2, Mars-3, Mercury-4, Jupiter-5, Venus-6, Saturn-7, Rahu-8, Ketu-9) then the product is to be multiplied by the Navamsa serial number in which the Planet is posited. To this resultant figure is added the serial number of the present Moon Nakshatra, the Ishta Ghatis and the serial number of the Ascendant sign. After this the resultant is to be divided by 12, and then the remainder will tell the Shayanaadi Avasthas:

Notes: Suppose the native was born in the Hasta Nakshatra 5 Ghatis 0 Pala after the sunrise in the Cancer Ascendant. At this Ishta Kala or time, the Sun’s longitude was 2/5/10/15 and the moon’s longitude) was 5/9/14/27

Due to the Sun’s longitude to be 2/5/10/15 Sun will be in the Mrigasiras Nakshatra. Therefore the serial no. of Mrigasiras is to be multiplied by that of the Sun. The product of these will be 5 x 1 = 5.

This product is to be multiplied by the serial no. of Navamsa (in which the Sun is situated. The product will be 5 x 8 = 40. To this figure (40) is to be added the serial no. of the birth Nakshatra which is 13 and the birth Lagna (the serial no. of the natal Ascendant which is 4). The summation will be 40 + 13 + 4 = 57. It is divided by 12, then the remainder comes to nine. The 9th is the Bhojana Avastha. There fore it is the Bhojana Avastha of the Sun.

In order to know the Chesta of the Avastha:

The remainder which came by the above method should be multiplied by this very figure (the remainder). The product is to be added the number of the first letter of the name and the resultant should be multiplied by 12. In the remainder are to be added the Kshepakanka of the Planets for the Sun etc. Su (5), Mo (2), Ma (2), Me (3), Ju (5), Ve (3), Sa (3), Ra (4), Ke (4) and this is to be multiplied by 3. If the remainder is 1 then it is Drishti, if 2 it is Cheshta, if 0 it is Vicheshta. These Kshepakankas of the Planets have been stated by the ancient Acharyas Yawan etc.

In the notes of the 3rd shloka we arrived at the Bhojana Avastha of the Sun. There the remainder was 9. Therefore multiplying the remainder 9 by 9 we get 81. To 81 is added the Swarankas of the first letter of the native’s name (popular) Hari Om `Ha’ and thus we get 81 + 5 = 86. It is divided by 12. The remainder comes to be 2. To it is added the Kshepakanka of the Sun 5 and the figure comes to be 2 + 5 = 7. Dividing it by 3 we get the remainder 1. Therefore, it is the Drishti Chesta.

In the given example. We should say that there was the Sun’s Drishti Chesta which was in his Bhojana Avastha.

The effects of the various Chesta are:
a) Drishti Chesta (1st) will give moderate effects.

b) Chesta (2nd) will give complete effects.

c) Vicheshta (3rd) will give negligible effects.

These effects are according to the strength of planets for auspicious Avasthas and for inauspicious avasthas the reduction in evil effects will also be in the same proportion, i.e. in Chesta (2nd) the evil effects will be fully controlled.

Dr. Shanker Adawal
Profile and Dr. Adawal’s Astro Channel
Dr. Adawal’s research work and articles on Bhrigu Nadi astrology 

Dr. Adawal’s approved articles published on

Dr. Adawal’s exclusive articles on
Join Dr. Adawal’s Facebook Group for free Astro Queries
Visit Dr. Adawal’s facebook profile
Published articles on Newspapers

No comments:

Post a Comment

Education and Astrology!

Relations and Astrology

Predictive Patterns of Zodiac Signs 2024

राशिचक्र का पूर्वानुमान वर्ष 2024 के लिए।