For the Students of Hindu Vedic Astrology by Dr. A. Shanker

Recent Posts


Raja Yogas strength in Vedic Astrology!

Ancient astrology gives distinctly formulated theories to assess the strength of planets in terms of Amsa value, Navamsa position and Vargottama virtue. These elements cannot be separated and ignored, because the prediction and assessment cannot be reckoned only from the birth horoscope. Every horoscope is peculiar, ad vivid in nature, and assessment ca be made on the basis of Amsas, Navamsa, and Vargottama considerations, which imply correct data, specification and the intensity or capacity of both planets and the horoscope.

Amsa: The basic fact is that all planets transit 30 degree to complete one sign or Rasi. All planets have been assigned certain degrees in which they attain deep exaltation position or uchcha, as well as debility or neecha. This is fundamental to ascertain planetary strengths and weaknesses. The following is the table giving amass of planetary strength and weakness.

The Sun
10 degree
3 degree
28 degree
15 degree
5 degree
27 degree
20 degree

The underlying meaning of Amsa theory is that all planets with their amsasa when posited in uchcha (exaltation) and moolatrikona sign give full-fledged and best effects of the Bhava concerned, and when posited in neecha (debilitation) sign the planets with their respective amass give worst effects in respect of the Bhava concerned.

When uchcha planet occupies a Kendra either from the ascendant or the Moon, the person is certain to reach a very high position. Only one planet of uchcha kind can give the best position. The priority of amsa of planets is very important to assess the strength and weakness of the planets. Planets in uchcha or moolatrikona may be called mighty planets.

Navamsa: The importance of Navamsa cannot be neglected in judging the strength of the planets. The theory of Navamsa is formulated by making nine divisions of 3 degree 20’ each out of 30 amsas of a Rasi. These nine divisions are allotted to the first nine Rasis and then Capricorn starts from Taurus; Aquarius and Pisces follow accordingly. In this method, planet’s Rasi such as uchcha, neecha, friendly and inimical Rasi is reckoned from the amass of the planets in the birth horoscope. The planets in uchcha, moolatrikona and own in Navamsa are considered as mighty planets, irrespective of planet’s position in the birth horoscope. If a planets is in an inimical Rasi in the birth horoscope, it is considered mighty if it is posited in own or exalted Navamsa, and vice versa. When Rajayogakaraka planets are posited in their own or exaltation, they left the person to the top position in politics. Such mighty planets, if posited either in Kendra or trikona, give prominent position and status.

Vargottama: The theory of Vargottama is supreme and its virtues are enormous. As for Raja Yoga either the ascendant or the Moon must be Vargottama. Mostly all accomplished top politicians have either their ascendant or their Moon Vargottama. This is a great advantage. Vargottama planets wield supreme power, especially the lords of Kendra and trikona, if they are posited in either Kendra or trikona; this takes the person to the seat of power in the country. Vargottama ascendant, the Moon or the planets are to be given A-1 rank. The person who has such A-1 type planets can attain certainly A-1 position in politics. Ancient texts say that three or four benefics, aspecting Vargottama ascendant or the Moon, make such a native king, or now-a-days equal to king with privilege and power to rule the country.

Adhi Yoga: This is one of the A-1 kinds of Raja Yogas extolled by the astrological theorists. Adhi Yoga occurs when benefic planets are posited in the 6th, the 7th and the 8th from the Moon. If one benefic planet is thus posited, it makes for a General (Senapati); two benefic planets produce Raja Mantri (Minister) and three make a King. This Yoga is rarely found even in the horoscopes of politicians. This Yoga confers health, wealth and destruction of enemy. Chandradhiyoga is considered as one of the best Yogas.

Karaka Yoga: This Yoga occurs when a planet posited in any of the Kendras either from the ascendant or the Moon is in uchcha, moolatrikona or own; such a planet is considered as a Karaka. When the Moon is posited in the 4th or the 10th from the ascendant, this Yoga does not materialize. The karaka planet along with Vargottama ascendant or the Moon gives Raja Yoga. Even if such a person is born not in a royal family, he becomes supreme, equal to king.

The Theory of Rashmi: Sages framed this theory to estimate Raja Yoga. To assess the strength of Raja Yoga, in terms of Grama (village), Nagar (city), district and the country, application of Rashmi principle helps determine the extent of area such a person can rule. The planet descends from its uchcha position by its Uchcha Rashmi, and the planet ascends from its neecha position to uchcha state. This kind of ascending and descending phenomena of planets have Rashmi element.

Dr. Shanker Adawal
Research work and articles on Bhrigu Nadi astrology:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Education and Astrology!

Relations and Astrology

Predictive Patterns of Zodiac Signs 2024

राशिचक्र का पूर्वानुमान वर्ष 2024 के लिए।