For the Students of Hindu Vedic Astrology by Dr. A. Shanker

Recent Posts


Importance of Yogas and Maha-Yogas in Astrology

 astrology GIFAstrology is a harmonious blend of science and art. This is a unique method of interpretation of the correlation of planetary influences. This implies that there is a constantly moving relationship between the objects of the universe such as the Sun, the Moon and the planets and the small moving objects as the human beings, animals and the like. Whatever is born or done at given moment of time adopts the qualities of that particular moment. In as much as a man identifies himself with the physical-self and the physical world around him, so he is indissolubly part of it and subject to the changing pattern as formed by the planets in their orbits. Only by the recognition of that which he senses as greater than himself he can attune himself to what is beyond the terrestrial pattern.

The entire basis of astrology rests on the premise that the pattern of a person correlates with the planetary pattern at his birth moment. The planetary pattern at his birth moment. The pattern will at times exteriorize as “events”. The accuracy of these which can be checked up in earlier life gives the astrologer the belief that tendencies deduced from calculation of future deeds may be expected to evaluate as certain types of happenings in later life. When the astrologer applies a great deal of common sense he rises above the evidence of his limited senses.

Yogas, in astrological parlance, are specified commutations or combinations of planets in the different houses of the chart, i.e. certain positions of planets relative to each other or one another or to the ascendant or to the Moon. These constitute the special features and these play vital roles in the evaluation of horoscopes. Yogas are capable of changing the entire complexion of the chart. This general term Yoga, applies to either one of good augury or of bad. They confer auspicious results and lift one to dizzy heights or cause evil in experiencing untold miseries. In popular language the benefic one is called a Yoga and the malefic one is known as Arishta. Some Arishta Yogas are so bad that they annul even strong Raja Yogas. Thus the result of an apparently promising chart may invariably fail the native. Yogas formed from or in relation to the ascendant give results usually from one’s childhood while those formed from or in relation to the moon sign fructify after a described age of years and the degree of manifestation will depend upon the merits and demerits of the acts and deeds of the native. It should be kept in view that none of these Yogas will ever become operative to the exclusion of any of the other Yogas present in the horoscope. It is, nevertheless, quite possible to distinguish one Yoga from the other.

Yogas become fruitful when the planets are powerful both in the Rasi chart and in the Navamsa chart. Hence the axiom “Grahanam amsakamabalam”.

Yogas which are known as quasi permanent indications in a horoscope tend to show the degree of good luck or adversity a person is likely to experience during his life time.

All Yogas are combinations of planets but all combinations of planets do not constitute Yogas. They may be Arishtas as well. There are many types of benefic Yogas like Dhana Yogas, Raja Yogas and Gnana Yogas. Malefic Yogas mean and include Agnana Yogas. Maaraka Yogas, Dur Yogas, Ava Yogas and the like. In general Yogas which are benefic or malefic govern health, personality, success and happiness in life, financial affluence, high education, psyche, physique, family life, friends and relations, one’s conduct, pleasures, enjoyment of life and fortune and the like.

Yoga is a word difficult to define precisely in English language. According to dictionary, the term Yoga means conjunction, joining, unity, unison, combination, junction etc. The word Yoga in the general term is derived from the term Samyoga which literally means a conjunction or chance. But, in astrology, Yogas are formed in several ways due to interplanetary relationship of planets or placement of planets. According to Vaidhanatha Deekshit the established relationship between planets are 1.

Conjunction; 2. Exchange of house; 3. Mutual or special aspect; 4. Prestigious position; and, 5. Strength of some special kind.
Planets are divided into three groups viz. Benefics, Neutrals and Malefics depending on their rulership of certain houses in any horoscope. According to sage Parasara there are benefics, malefic and neutrals for every ascendant or sign but according to Vasishta, Ganpati Muni etc.; there are Ati subhas (highly beneficial ones), Subhas (benefic) Paapas (malefic) and Ati papas (most dangerous malefics). Vishama grahas of mischievous planets is another category defined by some ancient writers. There are places of elevation and fall for all the planets. Planets which cause Yogas give full, proportionate or minimal results depending upon these factors. Maha Yogas are: Pancha Maha Purusha Yogas viz. Hamsa, Maalavya, Bhadra, ruchaka and Sasa, Sthira Lakshmi Yoga, Chatussara Yoga, Parijata Yoga, Adhi Yoga, Pushkalaa Yoga, Siva Yoga, Vishnu Yoga, Saarva bhowma Yoga, Chakravarti Yoga, Utkrishta Raja Yoga, Maha Bhagya Yoga, Sree Yoga, Kalaanidhi Yoga, Aiswarya Yoga, Ayanta Dhyanalabha Yoga, Shubhra Yoga, Gajakesari Yoga, Raja Yoga and others. Therer are in all 3016 Yogas in vogue including Nabhasa Yogas, Aukrui Yogas, Ashubha Yogas, Duryogas and Ava Yogas.

Dr. Shanker AdawalProfile:
Research work and articles on Bhrigu Nadi astrology:
Join my Facebook Group for free Astro

Education and Astrology!

Relations and Astrology

Dr. A. Shanker Profile