For the Students of Hindu Vedic Astrology by Dr. A. Shanker

Recent Posts


Know About Zodiac Signs: Introduction, Chapter i, Part - 1

Dr. Shanker Adawal


The effect of twelve Signs (Rashis) and planets has been described in various classical books of Astrology. It is very difficult for any one to go through these entire books in detail as it will be very time consuming and laborious work. In this book it has been tried that signification and effect of all twelve signs may be presented so that reader may get each and every information all together. Before taking up the main work, it will be useful for the readers to have some idea of the Zodiac, the twelve parts of the Zodiac viz., the signs.

Knowing characteristics of the different Zodiac signs can give one an advantage with your relations with people around him/her. Astrological signs traits are different for each sign and if one understand the way their personalities are, he/she can get a heads up on their personality traits and it makes it easier to understand why people do the things they do. Zodiac signs information is very useful for relationships. A male and female of certain zodiac signs have different ways of interacting with their partner. If one is in a romantic relationship, understanding zodiac signs will make him/her easy to see why his/her partner gets jealous or why he or she is emotionally cold. It is nothing but the personality traits and particular characteristics of their astrology sign. Especially In India where we are live in a place that has four seasons, you can strongly feel and sense that your life has an ebb and flow related to the seasons. You may be acutely aware of changes in your energy, emotions, sleep patterns, and ambitions as the seasons change. The astrological signs represent that cycle of evolution of energy.
Learn as much as you can about the traits of the different Zodiac signs and make your life flow smoother because you understand the motives behind Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. Astrology signs also help you understand yourself, know why you are so attached to your possessions or why you are so emotional. Get to know yourself better through astrology characteristics interpretation. Simply read the name of the astrology sign to begin your investigation.

Let us have a look now into the specifics of each astrological sign and how that might apply to us. In this book I have tried my best to explain the significations of each sign and their lord in detail like nature of the native, his/her physical structure, and nature in general as well as specific in case of man, woman and a child, health, eating habits, marriage life etc. Lets first discuss some details about Zodiac.
The Zodiac is an egg shaped circle of space surrounding the Earth. It may be imagined as a belt in the heavens about 12 degrees wide in which the planets travel. It is the Sun’s apparent path that is called the ecliptic. The zodiacal circle is divided into twelve equal parts and each part containing thirty degrees of space called the signs of the Zodiac. Thus a sign is one twelfth division of the zodiacal circle and is deemed as containing 30 degrees constitute the circle of the Zodiac or 360 degrees. In this circle the planets travel in its own orbit, one outlying beyond the other. The twelve signs of the Zodiac are Aries (Mesha), Taurus (Vrishabh), Gemini (Mithun), Cancer (Kark), Leo (Simh), Virgo (Kanya), Libra (Thula), Scorpio (Vrischik), Sagittarius (Dhanu), Capricorn (Makara), quarius (Kumbha) and Pisces (Meena). It is these twelve signs through which the planets travel or transit from Aries to Pisces. Each sign possesses a specific influence. The planets, also as they travel around the Zodiac exert an influence according to their separate nature and position in the Zodiac.

According to modem Astrology although there are twelve planets viz., Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu, Ketu, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto; Indian Astrology recognizes only the first nine planets. Each sign of the Zodiac is owned by a special planet that is deemed as its `ruler’ of that sign. Sun and Moon rule one sign each viz. Leo and Cancer respectively while Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn rule two signs each. There is controversy about Rahu and Ketu ruling some signs but the fact is that they being shadow planets do not own any sins but cast their influence according to signs in which they are placed, or lords of those signs, or according to planets influencing them by aspect or conjunction. Mars rules Aries and Scorpio, Mercury Gemini and Virgo, Jupiter Sagittarius and Pisces, Venus Taurus and Libra and Saturn Capricorn and Aquarius.
Each sign has a special name, symbol, lord which will be discussed in detail separately while discussing each Sign (Rashi). Before knowing about signs one must have basic knowledge about planets. So firstly we will discuss about some important points about planets. Among 9 planets of zodiac, seven planets viz. Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn are the main planets and Rahu & Ketu are shadow planets. Lordship of various sign has been assigned to only seven main planets. No sign has been assigned to Rahu and Ketu. So these main planets play very important role in understanding the various characteristics of a sign.

Sun is considered as king of the zodiac, Moon as queen, Mars as commander of army, Mercury is prince, Jupiter as Guru or adviser of king (Sun), Venus as female servant (Dashi) and Saturn as servant or people in general. Keeping in mind this status one can easily understand their mutual friendship towards each other. For ready reference, natural friendship of planets towards each other is given below:

Relationship Amongst Planets

Moon, Mars, Jupiter
Venus, Saturn
Sun, Mercury
Mars, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn
Sun, Moon, Jupiter
Venus, Saturn
Sun, Venus
Mars, Jupiter, Saturn
Sun, Moon, Mars
Mercury, Saturn
Sun, Moon, Jupiter
Mercury, Venus
Sun, Moon, Mars

Let us discuss about planets in details:

Dr. Shanker Adawal
Research work and articles on Bhrigu Nadi astrology:
Published articles on
or search keyword "shanker adawal" in google search for published articles
Join my Facebook Group for free Astro Queries:
Published articles on Newspapers:


No comments:

Post a Comment

Education and Astrology!

Relations and Astrology

Predictive Patterns of Zodiac Signs 2024

राशिचक्र का पूर्वानुमान वर्ष 2024 के लिए।