For the Students of Hindu Vedic Astrology by Dr. A. Shanker

Recent Posts


The Dasa System (Planetary Periods)

Dr. Shanker Adawal (Jyotishaacharya, PHD, MBA)

The Dasa System or the timing of events through periodicity of planetary rotation is the greatest of the boons given by the Vedic seers. This is called the Dasa system. There are very many dasa system's available in the parasari and the Jaimini methods of reading a horoscope.. The total cycle of Dasas is 120 years apportioned to each planet in the order of:

Sun = 7 years,
Moon = 10 years,
Mars = 7 years,
Rahu = 18 years,
Mercury = 17 years,
Ketu = 7 years,
Jupiter = 16 years,
Venus = 20 years,
Venus = 19 years,

There are 27 constellations in the zodiac divided into nine groups. Every three groups are ruled by one planet:

Aswini, Makha and moola are ruled by Ketu

Bharani Pubba and poorvashad are ruled by Venus

Krittika, Uttara and Uttarashada are ruled by Sun.

Rohini, Hasta and Sravana are ruled by Moon

Mrigasira, Chitta and dhanista are ruled by Mars

Aridra, Svati and Satbhishak are ruled by Rahu

Punarvasu, Vishakha, and poorva bhadrapada are ruled by Jupiter

Pushya, anuradha and Uttara Bhadrapad are ruled by Saturn

Aslesha Jyeshta and Revati are ruled by Mercury

To Moons motion the period of a dasa left over by calculating the balance portion to be moved the dasa at birth be worked out.

An example:

A child as born in Aswini star in 3rd pada at 10degree of Aries. The 7years of Ketu = 13Degrees and 20 minutes = 800 minutes. Moon has passed 10 degree = 600 minutes. So the balance is 200 minutes to be passed. 200x 7= 1400/ 800 = 14/8 = 1.75 ears or 1 year and 9 months.

For easy calculations ready made tables are given in the ephemeris. Each Maha Dasa (Main Period) is further divided into nine Sub Periods called Antaras and each Antara is further sub divided into nine Pratyantara also called as the sookshma or pinpointing one. The antaras and pratyantaras run in the same order as Maha dasas i.e. Sun, Moon, Mars, Rahu, Jupiter, Saturn, Mercury Ketu and Venus.

A planet can be an Excellent benefic called as the Yoga Karaka, or a benefic, or a neutral, or a malefic or dire malefic to an ascendant depending on its nature and ownership of Houses. Generally planets owning Quadrants and trines are benefics. Those owning Houses 3, 6, 8, and 12 are malefic. Owners of 2nd and 11th are classified according to their company.

The tabulated form of this classification is given below:

Each of the Major period is further sub divided into nine sub periods. Each sub lord gives good or bad results depending on its relation with the Major lord and also the ascendant lord . If its relation with the major lord or the ascendant lord and the sub lord is adverse but the concerned planet itself is a benefic then the results are neutral. If the relation between the Major lord and sub lord is Good and sub lord happens to be a benefic then the results are excellent. If both major and sub lords are adverse then the result will be very bad. In a bad Dasa and antara if the transit of Jupiter and Saturn are also adverse the result can be disastrous culminating in the death of native also.

Shanker Adawal


Research work and articles on Bhrigu Nadi astrology:

Published articles on

or search keyword "shanker adawal" in google search for published articles

Join my Facebook Group for free Astro

Published articles on Newspapers:

Year 2012 for you:

Education and Astrology!

Relations and Astrology

Predictive Patterns of Zodiac Signs 2024

राशिचक्र का पूर्वानुमान वर्ष 2024 के लिए।