For the Students of Hindu Vedic Astrology by Dr. A. Shanker

Recent Posts


What is the Importance of Axial Rotation of the Earth and its seven islands in Hindu Vedic Astrology!

Some sages are of the view that the length and width of the heaven are equal to that of seven islands of the earth together. They are just like two parts of a grain of gram with one above the other. The state of the earth and the heaven should be gauged on this pattern. A zone of the earth surrounded by water is called an island in the sept khand of the earth. When Sun comes in uttering sangha, it ascends to and sangria under the influence of wind in which it remains in a Northern mode for six months and in the Southern mode for another six months. Here, Sumeru Mountain, the abode of gods or angels is described by astrologers as Dhruva where three paths of the Sun’s movement are shown. When the Sun is in the Northern mode or Uttarayan its light falling on the world becomes brighter as it travels at a higher altitude. This causes a length wing of days. When the seen is in the Southern mode or Dakshinayan its speed becomes fast and its light falling on the world becomes dim due to traveling at a lower altitude and being obstructed by the planets. This phenomenon causes the shortening of days and lengthening of nights, called Biswat Sangya. Northern or Uttarayan mode exists when the Sun enters Gemini or Mithun Rashi from Capricorn or Makar Rashi. The Southern mode or Dakshinayan Sangya takes place from the Cancer or Kark Rashi to the Sankranti of Sagittarius or Dhanu Rashi.

The State of Seven Islands: We have already mentioned the geographical conditions described by the Indian philosophers. The change of names due to the influence of religion is a fact to some extent. During the Islamic regime, the name of the city Sri Mathuraji was Islamabad. Similarly, Rampur has been renamed as Mastafabad. Prayag Raj is called Allahabad. Islands also have been renamed. A particular portion of the earth divided into seven parts is known as an island which is Vilayat in Persian. Out of these, the seventh has been divided separately. It’s width is 50,00,00,000 Yojan. Here, the fourth part of the earth is buried under Lok-alok Mountain, void of Sunlight; the remaining three parts comprise seven islands. The island which contains a sea has become popular by its name. Hence, India is also known as ‘Bhulok’ is called Jumbo Dweep. It has nine divisions detailed below.

Dr. A. Shanker

No comments:

Post a Comment

Education and Astrology!

Relations and Astrology