For the Students of Hindu Vedic Astrology by Dr. A. Shanker

Recent Posts


How to read the Birth Chart

Dr. Shanker Adawal (Jyotishaacharya, PHD, MBA)

1)  I have already done delineation of birth charts from different angles including from the Lagan and Lagan Lord. Actually, to start with Lagan i.e. the sign rising or the Ascendant or Tanu Bhava brings many things about the native and as such the astrologers have to be well-versed with certain basic principle about the signs. This article covers various facets of the signs for interpretative astrology or predictive astrology as you may call. These points if taken into consideration will definitely lead to the truth in your predictions be it a natal or a horary chart or a mundane chart.

2)  Know about the sign including the rising sing. The movable, dual and fixed signs are well known to the astrologers and I need not repeat them known about the exaltation sings of the planets i.e. the Sun exalts in Aries and debilitates in Lira including the degree of their exaltation and debilitation. For Aries Lagan persons, the Sun in Aries (lagan) is in its exaltation sign but if the Sun get to Libra, it gets to its debilitated sign i.e. having no strength or becoming weak reference to other potentialities in the horoscope.

3)  Moolatrikona signs of the planets (Every planet has it Moolatrikona portion in a sign) must not be ignored as they also lend the needed strength to the native. For your recapitulation, it is mentioned that Moolatrikona portions of the 7 planets are as under:

The Sun                  -           20 degrees of Leo (10 to 30 degrees)
The Moon              -           27 degrees of Taurus (4 to 30 degree)
Mars                      -           12 degrees of Aries (1 to 12 degrees)
Mercury                 -           5 degrees of Virgo (16 to 20 degrees)
Jupiter                    -           10 degrees of Saggitarus (1 to 10 degrees)
Venus                     -           5 degree of Libra (0 to 5 degrees)
Saturn                    -           4 degree of Aquarius

4)  As most of you know the signs have been grouped in triplicate according to four elements and this classification must be kept in mind by the astrologers for giving predictions :

              I. Fiery Signs –Aries, Leo and Saggitarus – these exhibit courage, excitement, enthusiasm, ambitions, young and vitality, pride, ego, common, self-confidence etc. the moment you see these signs rising, you can attribute some of these qualities of the native.
              II. Earthy Signs – Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn they exhibit stability, capability, hard work, practicality, ambition for seeking and accumulating wealth, power and position. At the same time such persons are secretive, suspicious and a stubborn and also economical, methodical and preserving, prudent etc. 
              III.      Airy Signs – Gemini, Libra and Aquarius – these signs ret\late to mind and mental peace. With less vitality, these signs do exhibit cheerfulness, gentleness, fertile imagination, artistic nature, skill in literary pursuits including scientific pursuits.
              IV. Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces – though with fertile imaginations, natives born under these sings are weak and they are receptive and sentimental sailors, fishermen, wine merchants come under these signs.

5)      Then we have division of these signs in human and bestial signs :
                 I. Human sing are Gemini, Virgo and Aquarius and First half of Saggitarus. Most of the Astrologers include Libra also.
                 II. Bestial sings (animal) are Aries, Taurus, Capricorn and second half of Saggitarus.
You can immediately determine nature of the native, though to a lesser degree because other planets would also have a say in the birth chart.

6)  Reptilian sings are Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. The main quality of these native is secretiveness and they are tricky signs. For example study the horoscopes of Scorpio Lagan persons and know for yourself. However, it has been seen that native with sun in Scorpio specially in the 10th house taken them to high position in life.

7)  Dual nature is indicated by common sings but Gemini, Saggitarus and Pisces have more capacity to make the native double minded because they have two figures in them.

8)  Violence is indicated by Aries, Libra, Scorpio, Capricorn and Aquarius i.e. tow signs owned by Mars known for violence and two by Saturn known for destruction/accidents etc. but, doubt is created for Libra being classified in this category. Though Hitler's Lagan was Libra but it is not necessary that all Librans are violent.

9)  Successful completion of enterprises is indicated by Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. These are termed as fruitful signs'. Semi fruitful signs are Taurus Libra, Capricorn and Saggitarus and tend to increases birth rate of children. On the other hand Aries Gemini, Leo and Virgo are barren signs and indicate decrease in the birth rate of children.

Shanker Adawal
Facebook Fan Club... click here to join for free Astro Queries

1 comment:

  1. Dear Sir,
    The articles are good. Actually I have to make effort to follow that too read a no of times.
    thank you


Education and Astrology!

Relations and Astrology

Predictive Patterns of Zodiac Signs 2024

राशिचक्र का पूर्वानुमान वर्ष 2024 के लिए।