For the Students of Hindu Vedic Astrology by Dr. Shanker Adawal

Recent Posts


Vastu Shastra: Introduction, Chapter I, Part - 5

Dr. Shanker Adawal
Story from Matsaya Puran regarding Vastu Purusha
Long long ago Lord Shiva fought against the demon named Andhka and killed him. While fighting with demon, he began to sweat profusely and a man was born of the drops of Shiva’s sweat. He looked very cruel and was very hungry. He began to do penance to appease Lord Shiva and get a boon from him. Shiva was pleased with his penance and appeared before him. The devotee prayed to Shiva, “Oh Lord! Please permit me to eat away all the three worlds.” Shiva said,” Let it be so.” The devotee’s joy knew no bounds. He got possession on all the three worlds and first he was ready to eat the terrestrial world (Bhooloka). Then the celestial (Devatas), Brahma, Shiva and the demons (Rakshasas) also were terrified and caught hold of the devotee encircling him.

Vaastu Purusha, being arrested like this, said to the Gods, “Oh, Celestial (Devtas) Beings! You have all caught hold of me and tied me on all the sides. How long shall I be like this, in this position hanging my head down like a prisoner? What shall I eat? Listening to those words, the celestial beings said, “Today is Bhadrapada Shukla Triteya, Saturday and `Visakha Star’; So you lie down here on the ground changing your position once in three months, i.e. from `Bhadraspada’ to `kartik’ you lie down putting your head in the eastern direction and your feet towards the west. During the months of “Margashira”, `Pusham’ and `Magha’, you lie down towards the south looking towards the west and put your feet towards the north during the months of `Phalgun’, `Chaitra’ and `Vaisakh’ put your head towards the west and put your head towards the west and put your feet towards the north during the months of `Phalgun’, `Chaitra’ and `Vaisakh’ put your head towards the west and feet towards the east., looking towards the north; in the months of `Jyestha’, `Ashadha’ and `Sravana’, put your head towards the North and the feet towards the south and look towards the east. Whatever side you may turn, you will have to lie down on the left side only. You will be known as `VAASTU PURUSHA’. You will tease the people, to your heart’s content, who construct buildings and temples, dig wells and tanks on the side towards which you see and in the direction towards which you hold your feet. You may trouble and even devour those people who construct the aforesaid buildings and temples etc. in the direction where you lay your head and back, those who lay foundation-stone without worshipping you or without satisfying you with “Homa” and the like. Then the Vaastu-Purusha was quite satisfied.

Since then the worship of Vaastu-Purusha has been in vogue and it has become compulsory for those who want to construct any kind of building.

Worshipping Vastu Pursha

Vasturajvallabh has given the places where Vastu Purush is to be worshipped. It is said that while constructing palace, house, well, pond, renovation of old house, performing homa, and starting of any work Vastu Purush is worshipped. It was said that if it is not worshipped then the native would face a lot of problems. It is directed that the Vastu Purush is worshipped which has one thousand squares. The normal Vastu Purush has 64 boxes and eight boxes. While planning a village, minister’s house or town the Vastu Purush of sixty boxes should be worshipped, for construction of house eighty one boxes Vastu Purush is worshipped, while renovation forty nine boxes Vastu Purusha and for palace one hundred and for construction of well hundred and ninety six is told in the classics.

It is further given the deities of the vastu Purusha. Forty five celestial beings out of whom thirty two from without and thirteen from within caught hold of the devotee. The thirty two celestial beings are:-

1. Ish, 2. Parjanya, 3. Jaya, 4. Indra, 5. Surya, 6. Barisham, 7. Sadya, 8. Akash, 9. Agni, 10. Pushna, 11. Vitatha, 12. Yama, 13. Kritanta, 14. Gandharva, 15. Bringavaja, 16. Mriga, 17. Pitatra, 18. Darepale, 19. Sugriva, 20. Pushpadanata, 21. Varuna, 22. Datiya, 23. Sesha, 24. Yakshma, 25. Roga, 26. Naga, 27. Mukhya, 28. Bhallata, 29. Soma, 30. Sapra, 31. Aditi, and 32. Diti.
All these 32 celestial beings are out of the limits of the devotee whereas the following thirteen beings are within his limits:-

1. Apa, 2. Savita, 3. Indrajaya, 4. Rudra, 5. Marichi, 6. Savitri, 7. Vivaswan, 8. Vishnu, 9. Mitra, 10. Rudra, 11. Prithvidhara, 12. Apavatsa, and 13. Brahma


Shanker Adawal

Research work and articles on Bhrigu Nadi astrology:
Published articles on
or search keyword "shanker adawal" in google search for published articles
Join my Facebook Group for free Astro Queries:
Published articles on Newspapers:

राशि चक्र के संकेत - पाक्षिक : Dr. A. Shanker

Education and Astrology!

Relations and Astrology