Know About Kala Dasa

Dr. Shanker Adawal

Both day and night consist of 60 Ghatis i.e. 24 hours, morning and evening twilight is of 10 Ghatis i.e. two hours each.

1. 5 Ghatis before the sight of the semi-disk of the setting Sun and 5 Ghatis after that and 5 Ghatis before and after the rising of Sun, that is 10 Ghatis in the evening and 10 Ghatis in the morning, respectively. The total period of both these Sandhya (twilight) is said to be 20 Ghatis.

2. The 20 Ghatis of the night have been given the name Poorna and the 20 Ghatis of the day have been given the name Mugdha. The Sandhya at the time of sunrise is called Khanda and the Sandhya at the time of sunset is said to be Sudha. Both of these Sandhya are of 10 Ghatis each.

3. When the birth is in Poorna, or Mugdha, its past Ghatis should be multiplied by 2 and the product should be divided by 15. The figure so arrived at should be Converted into years, months etc.

4. By multiplying it by the serial number 1,2,3, etc., of Sun and other Planets in their normal order, we will get the Kala Dasa of these Planets.

5. When the birth is during Sandhya, then its past Ghatis should be multiplied by 4 and the product is divided by 15.

6. The figure so arrived at is in terms of years, months etc. should be Multiplied by the serial number 1,2,3, etc., of Sun and the other Planets, to obtain the Kala Dasa of all the nine Planets.

Chakra Dasa

The Chakra Dasa can be maximum of there types:-

1. When the birth is at night, the Dasa will commence from Ascendant Rasi.

2. When the birth is during the day, the Dasa will start from the Rasi, in which the Lord of Ascendant is placed.

3. When the birth is during twilight of evening, the Dasa will begin from the Rasi of the second Bhava.

4. The Dasa of each Rasi is 10 years respectively. Since, it is the Dasa system of the 12 Rasis in the Zodiac; it has been named, as Chakra Dasa.

Another version:-

1. In this Dasa, the planet placed in the ascendant has the first Dasa, thereafter Dasa of planets placed in 2nd, 3rd, and 4th house respectively of 12 rasi will commence.

2. When more then one planet is placed in one house, the order of Dasa will be starting from the planet having highest degrees to the lowest, in the descending order.

3. The duration of Dasa of planet, will be equal to the Rasi number placed in the concerned house.

4. Monthly calculation will be in proportion of degrees of the planet in the respective Rasi years. 30 degree is equal to duration of Dasa years of a planet.

Kalachakra Dasa

Now let us describe the Kalachakra Dasa.

The basis for Kalachakra Dasa is the Nakshatra Pada or the quarter in which the Moon is placed.

Normally the Kalachakra Dasa should be applied:-

1. Normally the Kalachakra Dasa should be applied:-

2. When Venus is strong.

3. The lord of Navamsa, where the Moon is placed joins or aspect the Moon and,

4. The lord of such a Navamsa is strongly placed.

However Kalachakra Dasa can be applied with great advantage in most cases and now days there are many versions, which one to follow depends on your experience and choice.
5, 21, 7, 9, 10, 16 and 4 are the numbers representing the Kalachakra period in years respectively of the Seven planets counted from the Sun and are the chief source for ascertaining the benefic and malefic results.

Dr. Shanker Adawal
Profile and Dr. Adawal’s Astro Channel
Dr. Adawal’s research work and articles on Bhrigu Nadi astrology 

Dr. Adawal’s approved articles published on

Dr. Adawal’s exclusive articles on
Join Dr. Adawal’s Facebook Group for free Astro Queries
Visit Dr. Adawal’s facebook profile
Published articles on Newspapers


Post a Comment

Please give us your feedback to improve our content which is purely based on our research work.

Dr. Shanker Adawal

Article Sections

Know About Zodiac Signs (407) Today's Astral Energy (292) Encyclopedia of Vedic Astrology: Remedies (283) Vedic Astrology & Your Profession (283) Planets Signs and Houses (278) Mars and Mercury (254) Vedic Astrology & Dasa Systems (217) Vedic Astrology & Wealth & Prosperity (146) Encyclopedia of Vedic Astrology: Planetary Transit (143) Bhrigu Samhita (107) Articles (104) A Guide to Palmistry (90) Encyclopedia of Vedic Astrology: Yogas (88) Encyclopedia of Vedic Astrology: Tajik Shastra and Annual Horoscopy (78) Vastu Shastra (77) Charms Talismans and Spells (72) Dr. Adawal Astro Channel (53) General Predictive Astrology (49) Article (45) Learn Vedic Astrology - Higher Level (41) Mantras for Nakshatras (28) Vedic Mantras (28) News Astrology (23) Learn Vedic Astrology (16) Palmistry (13) Sun Signs 2016 (13) Gemology (12) Indian Politicians (12) Sun-signs 2017 (12) Bhrigunadi Principles (8) Dr. Adawal's Books (8) Love Astrology (8) Sun Sign Forecast for 2012 (6) Guest Authors (5) Lord Shiva (5) Gemstones (4) Planet Talk (4) Planets (4) Books (3) Business Astrology (3) Todays Astro Tip (3) Yagna and Pooja (3) Yantras and Astrology (3) Aries Woman (2) BJP in Karnataka (2) Moon in Houses (2) Venus Effect (2) What is Gemini (2) What is Taurus (2) abroad travel (2) my kundli and wealth (2) Bollywood Astrology (1) Cow (1) Cricketers (1) Earthquake Astrology (1) Hindi Articles (1) Indian Anchorites (1) Indian way of Life Basic Truths of Indian Philosophy (1) Lotus flower (1) Movie Review (1) Nav Samvat 2065 (2008 – 09 A.D.) (1) Signs and Houses: Vedic Astrology Myths and Facts (1) Strong Nominees of Year 2008 Presidential in US (1) Sun Placed in Various Houses - Results (1) TV Videos - Part III (1) Today''s Astral Energy (1) Yogi Aditya Nath (1) amit shah (1) myths & Facts (1)
Follow me on Twitter Share us on your Facebook wall